In Minnesota you are required by law to stop and report any accident you are involved in that causes physical harm to another person or vehicle, or property. Failing to stop and report is a considered hit and run.
Under Minnesota law hit and run in known as “leaving the Scene of an accident”. Leaving the scene of an accident can be charge as a misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor, or felony. The maximum penalty for a misdemeanor is 90 days in jail and $1,000 in fines. The maximum penalty for a gross misdemeanor is 1 year in jail and $3,000 in fines. The maximum sentence for a felony hit and run depends on the circumstance of the offense.
If you have been involved in accident and left the scene, it's important to have legal representation as soon as possible, call the experienced attorney at Ascheman Law today.
©2020 Ascheman Law | 612-217-0077. Website Design by Lift Creative.